Main Menu
· Home

Contents
· Forums
· Our Reviews
· Search
· Web Links
· Privacy Policy


Hosted Sites
· Downey Games
Online
There are 156 unregistered users and 0 registered users on-line.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Other Stories
· Thanksgiving Sale 2018 at Downey Games (Nov 16, 2018)
· UQ Baseball 2018 MLB Season Released (Nov 12, 2018)
· Three New Ryder Cup Seasons Available (Oct 12, 2018)
· 2018 MLB Released for HardBall Wars (Oct 03, 2018)
· 2018 IndyCar Racing Year Book Available (Sep 26, 2018)
· 2018 PGA Tour Released (Sep 25, 2018)
· 2004 and 2007 Bull Riding Available (Sep 06, 2018)
· New Bull Riding Seasons Released (Aug 24, 2018)
· UQ Boxing 2018 Year Book Released (Aug 24, 2018)
· 2017 Drag Racing Available (Aug 01, 2018)
tabletop-sports.com Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
gridironOffline
Post subject: GWD Football Question  PostPosted: Jan 01, 2018 - 08:31 AM



Joined: Nov 21, 2006
Posts: 276

Status: Offline
22 drives in the game for the college. I can't remember if I have this right:
*Team A has ball for first possession and throws an interception.-end of 1st drive
*Team B runs the int back for TD-end of 2nd drive
*Team A will now receive kickoff to begin drive #3, right?

Wanted to make sure I have this right before preplaying today's college playoffs.

Go Dawgs!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Downey GamesOffline
Post subject: Re: GWD Football Question  PostPosted: Jan 01, 2018 - 11:02 AM
Site Admin


Joined: May 05, 2012
Posts: 1103

Status: Offline
gridiron wrote:
22 drives in the game for the college. I can't remember if I have this right:
*Team A has ball for first possession and throws an interception.-end of 1st drive
*Team B runs the int back for TD-end of 2nd drive
*Team A will now receive kickoff to begin drive #3, right?

Wanted to make sure I have this right before preplaying today's college playoffs.

Go Dawgs!


I do not have the rules right in front of me, so I can't quote the page number. But, I CAN quote the rule almost verbatim.

Normally, teams will continue to alternate possessions unless a turnover results in a touchdown being scored. In this situation the offensive team who just turned over the ball will begin the very next possession.

So a possession is counted when a team....

a) scores
b) turns over the ball (punt, missed field goal, fumble, interception or downs).

So, in your case Team A will start the next possession as Drive 2. The turnover returns do not count as a possession.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gridironOffline
Post subject: GWD II  PostPosted: Jan 01, 2018 - 02:17 PM



Joined: Nov 21, 2006
Posts: 276

Status: Offline
Thanks. Are punt returns for TD handled the same way?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Downey GamesOffline
Post subject: Re: GWD II  PostPosted: Jan 01, 2018 - 02:26 PM
Site Admin


Joined: May 05, 2012
Posts: 1103

Status: Offline
gridiron wrote:
Thanks. Are punt returns for TD handled the same way?


Yes, any turnover return for TD is handled this way. And while Punts are not technically turnovers, for the purposes of Game Winning Drive, they are.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gridironOffline
Post subject: GW  PostPosted: Jan 01, 2018 - 04:33 PM



Joined: Nov 21, 2006
Posts: 276

Status: Offline
Last question and I think I'm good to go....
Kickoff Returns for Score....does that count as a drive for the receiving team? Basically, with the return opportunity (for those that have the possibility), the team is getting two rolls to try and score on their possession, right?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Downey GamesOffline
Post subject: Re: GW  PostPosted: Jan 02, 2018 - 05:33 PM
Site Admin


Joined: May 05, 2012
Posts: 1103

Status: Offline
gridiron wrote:
Last question and I think I'm good to go....
Kickoff Returns for Score....does that count as a drive for the receiving team? Basically, with the return opportunity (for those that have the possibility), the team is getting two rolls to try and score on their possession, right?


Kick Returns (Not Punt Returns) are considered a possession. Basically, any return that is in the "Turnover" section (INT, FUMBLE, PUNT) are not counted as a possession.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 1998-2012 by Jeff Downey and Tabletop-sports.com
theme © by narodniki.com