tabletop-sports.com

Game Winning Drive Football - GWD Football Question

gridiron - Jan 01, 2018 - 08:31 AM
Post subject: GWD Football Question
22 drives in the game for the college. I can't remember if I have this right:
*Team A has ball for first possession and throws an interception.-end of 1st drive
*Team B runs the int back for TD-end of 2nd drive
*Team A will now receive kickoff to begin drive #3, right?

Wanted to make sure I have this right before preplaying today's college playoffs.

Go Dawgs!
Downey Games - Jan 01, 2018 - 11:02 AM
Post subject: Re: GWD Football Question
gridiron wrote:
22 drives in the game for the college. I can't remember if I have this right:
*Team A has ball for first possession and throws an interception.-end of 1st drive
*Team B runs the int back for TD-end of 2nd drive
*Team A will now receive kickoff to begin drive #3, right?

Wanted to make sure I have this right before preplaying today's college playoffs.

Go Dawgs!


I do not have the rules right in front of me, so I can't quote the page number. But, I CAN quote the rule almost verbatim.

Normally, teams will continue to alternate possessions unless a turnover results in a touchdown being scored. In this situation the offensive team who just turned over the ball will begin the very next possession.

So a possession is counted when a team....

a) scores
b) turns over the ball (punt, missed field goal, fumble, interception or downs).

So, in your case Team A will start the next possession as Drive 2. The turnover returns do not count as a possession.
gridiron - Jan 01, 2018 - 02:17 PM
Post subject: GWD II
Thanks. Are punt returns for TD handled the same way?
Downey Games - Jan 01, 2018 - 02:26 PM
Post subject: Re: GWD II
gridiron wrote:
Thanks. Are punt returns for TD handled the same way?


Yes, any turnover return for TD is handled this way. And while Punts are not technically turnovers, for the purposes of Game Winning Drive, they are.
gridiron - Jan 01, 2018 - 04:33 PM
Post subject: GW
Last question and I think I'm good to go....
Kickoff Returns for Score....does that count as a drive for the receiving team? Basically, with the return opportunity (for those that have the possibility), the team is getting two rolls to try and score on their possession, right?
Downey Games - Jan 02, 2018 - 05:33 PM
Post subject: Re: GW
gridiron wrote:
Last question and I think I'm good to go....
Kickoff Returns for Score....does that count as a drive for the receiving team? Basically, with the return opportunity (for those that have the possibility), the team is getting two rolls to try and score on their possession, right?


Kick Returns (Not Punt Returns) are considered a possession. Basically, any return that is in the "Turnover" section (INT, FUMBLE, PUNT) are not counted as a possession.
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 The PNphpBB Group
Credits